21 Day Fix: Why Autumn Calabrese and Color-Coded Eating is all the Rage

21_Day_Fix_containers

In the interest of transparency, I would like to preface by saying that this post is meant to share my experience with a new fitness and nutrition program, as well as to share more information about the program itself for others who might be interested.

  • Yes, I am a new Team Beachbody Coach.
  • Yes, that does mean that I earn a small chunk of change from new orders made through me.

What is more important to me, however, is helping people reach their goals. Do you want to demo a workout with me? Let’s do it. Do you want to ask me questions? Share recipes? Let’s do it.

My becoming your coach in any official capacity simply offers me an additional incentive to participate in a community dedicated to health and fitness.  I thrive in my own success and in the success of others. If you’re interested in taking steps in the direction of a happier, healthier you, just remember: you have to do the work! But, also remember: I’ll support you every step of the way!

What is this 21 Day Fix™ I Speak Of?

The 21 Day Fix is a Beachbody fitness program focused on nutrition and daily exercise. It features:

Seven different 30 minute workouts. Using little to no equipment–hand weights or a resistance band, a yoga mat– the workouts include weight/resistance training, Pilates, cardio, and yoga.

A bonus 10 minute ab workout is included on both disks, too. This workout can be integrated on your own, or if you choose to follow the “double workout” schedule during week 3 of your “Fix”. A second bonus workout DVD is also included: a full body cardio workout based on plyometrics, called Plyo Fix.

Clean, simple eating. During the program, you’ll eat 5-6 meals a day using the provided color-coded containers and an easy-to-follow meal plan. To get it right, you’ll be spreading out small meals and drinking lots of water to help you stay satisfied and avoid cravings.

Another helper in the cravings department is the recommended daily dose of ShakeologyThere are vegetarian and vegan options included in the food choices.

Simplicity. No calorie counting is required. The workouts include simple instructions and modifications to accommodate any fitness level.

21 Day Fix

What comes with the program? 7 workouts on 2 DVDs; the 21 Day Fix Eating Plan and portion controlled containers; a 3 Day “Quick Fix” plan for maximum results in 72 hours; and a Shakeology shaker cup

Time for The Proof: My Results

Why the pictures and measurements? It’s a great idea to take before measurements and pictures. Sometimes, you don’t see the number you want on the scale…but you feel it, your clothes fit better, and you look different!! Don’t let that scale own you! 
 

 Day 1: February 24, 2014    

Alex James 21 Day Fix Results

Before Pictures 02/24/2014

21 day fix before measurements

Day 9: March 4, 2014

21 Day Fix progress

Feeling stronger and more confident every day…so much so, I snapped this shameless bathroom selfie :)

Day 17: March 13, 2014

21 Day Fix, ABS!

Seeing more definition in my stomach every day. Oh, hello abs!

Day 21: March 16. 2014

Alex James 21 Day Fix Results

21 Day Fix after pictures: 03/16/2014

21 day fix after measurements

 

 

I do best with my data side by side, don’t you?

Overall Totals and Comparisons:

 

21 Day Fix Before and After, 21 Day Fix Results

Round 1 Results: 21 days, down 10.2 pounds and 6.25 inches!

21 day fix results summary

Let’s Talk Food: “You Look Good…Are You Starving?”

21 Day Fix Containers

What goes in the containers?

I admit, I really enjoy the experience of eating. I have a hard time thinking of food purely as fuel for my body. I am addicted to peanut butter and I really like a hearty, hoppy beer (or four). The first weekend of following the meal plan was a struggle for me because weekends are generally a time that I am used to indulging a bit. (Okay, a lot). After I got past the weekend hangries, though, I felt proud of myself–and not deprived. I avoided the urge to splurge by making one of the recipes in the Fix meal plan for a cheat treat–a cookie made from rolled oats, unsweetened apple sauce, cinnamon, pecans, and chocolate chips. Instead of giving up, I let myself have a little treat. It helped. (The program does allow for some replacement treats, including wine and sweet treats like these cookies!)

Here are a few examples of meals and snacks I ate during the 3 weeks:

Breakfast:

21 Day Fix food

Oatmeal with cinnamon and an apple
1 yellow container
1 purple container

21 Day Fix food

Yogurt with 1/2 a small banana, Island Vanilla Kashi cereal, and cinnamon
1 red container
1 yellow container
1/2 purple container

Snacks:

21 Day Fix food

Grapes and peanuts
1 purple container
1 orange container

21 Day Fix food, Vegan tropical strawberry Shakeology

An after workout shake: Vegan tropical strawberry Shakeology, 1/2 c raspberries, 1/2 small banana, 1/2 c unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1/2 c water + ice
1 red container
1 purple container
1/4 yellow “replacement”

Dinner:

21 Day Fix food, vegetarian 21 day fix

Boca veggie burger with sliced tomato, whole grain english muffin, sliced steamed carrots, steamed broccoli
2 yellow containers
2 green containers
1 red container

If you have any questions or you are interested in more information about this or any other Beachbody fitness program, please contact me, visit my Team Beachbody Coach website www.beachbodycoach.com/aprocessforprogress, or leave a comment here! 

-Alex

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Interested in joining a future Challenge Group? | a Process for Progress

  2. Pingback: I Will Find You. And I Will Take Your Scale Away. | a Process for Progress

Leave a Reply

